Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip “Ice Cream”

Did the title entice you?  Do me a favor and scroll down to the picture.. does it look like ice cream to you?  Well…it tastes like it too!  Allow me to geek out for a second.. it’s made of bananas.. a FRUIT!  Now, I know what you might be thinking, “Oh, I don’t like bananas.”  I hear you, I can take them or leave them and certainly wouldn’t consider eating them for dessert if I had the choice.  As a test.. I made this ice cream for my innocent victim boyfriend and didn’t allow him to see me cooking it.  I handed him the bowl and asked what he tasted..

Him: Peanut butter?

Me: What else?

Him: Umm… Greek yogurt?

I win!!

The bottom line is, it’s not a scary banana flavor.  Unlike real ice cream, this “ice cream” will actually leave you full after the 1/2 cup serving because you’ve got fiber from the bananas that you wouldn’t have in your typical peanut butter chocolate chip ice cream.  Another selling point is that there’s less fat, which is mostly unsaturated fats from the peanut butter.  I’m very excited to try this out with some frozen berries for an even healthier spin in the future.

Did I sell you on it?  I hope so!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip “Ice Cream”slightly adapted from use real butter

Serves: 1 pint (or four 1/2 cup servings)

4 medium bananas

2 tsp. Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp. natural peanut butter (I used Smart Balance)

2 tbsp. dark chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Slice bananas into 1/2 inch slices and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Place in freezer for about an hour until bananas are frozen.
  2. Put sliced, frozen bananas into a food processor and blend until it becomes creamy.  This will take a few minutes, and you’ll have to wipe the sides down with a spatula a few times.  Be patient, it will get there!
  3. Once bananas are creamy, add cocoa powder and peanut butter to food processor.  Mix another minute or so until well blended.
  4. Remove “ice cream” from the food processor and stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Serve as soft serve or freeze for a later time.

Nutrition Facts (per 1/2 cup serving): 193 calories, 7g fat (3g saturated), 35g carbohydrate (4g fiber), 3g protein

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip “Ice Cream”

Tell me what you think