High Fiber Veggie Pasta

I wasn’t all that creative with meals this week.  I’ve become addicted to searching “wedding” and all things related on pinterest, and I’ve been neglecting my recipe searching.  This coming week I buckled down and 5 out of the 7 meals are new, so I’m very hopeful that more then one will be successful.  For now I bring you a delicious recipe, but I can’t claim it as my own.  I think the red wine in the sauce really makes the dish.  I re-wrote the recipe for you because I slightly changed it, but be sure to pop over to chocolate broccoli’s blog for some great pictures.

P.s.  Notice the new bowl?  It’s one of several new dishes from mom to spice up the pictures.  I think it worked, thanks mom!

photo-019

High Fiber Veggie Pasta- slightly adapted from chocolatebroccoli

Serves: 6

Pasta:
1 pound whole wheat spiral pasta
1 cup shredded reduced fat Italian blend cheese
_
Veggie Sauce:
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup red onion, sliced
3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
2 small yellow squash, diced
1 red bell pepper, seeds and ribs removed, chopped
1 (26-ounce) jar reduced-sodium tomato sauce
1/2 cup red wine (don’t omit this!)
2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 tsp. dried parsley
_
Instructions:
  1. Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion, garlic, squash, and bell pepper; sauté for 8 minutes. Stir in the pasta sauce, red wine, Italian seasoning and basil.  Simmer for 18 minutes until sauce is bubbly and vegetables are soft.

  2. With about 10 minutes left to simmer, cook pasta in boiling water according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain in a colander. Return pasta to cooking pot. Stir in Italian blend cheese until well incorporated and cheese starts to melt. Keep warm.
  3. Pour pasta cheese mixture into sauce, stirring to coat evenly. Top with dried parsley, serve hot.

Nutrition Facts (per serving): 422 calories, 9g fat (3g sat fat), 61g carbohydrate (11g fiber), 19g protein

Tell me what you think

