Thin Minty Hot Cocoa

When I think of Halloween, I think candy corns.  Easter? Peanut butter eggs. Christmas? Mint.  York peppermint patties, Andes mints, even Junior Mints… get in my belly!

I’m not sure how or why this happened but mint = Christmas to me.  Here’s a quick easy recipe that gives you that delicious taste of a cocoa without a heavy whipped topping or full fat milk base.  It’s still a splurge rather then an every day drink, but it’s the holidays after all!  If you don’t happen to have 10 boxes of thin mints lying around because your boyfriend has no control when it comes to girl scouts, you can substitute for grated chocolate.

Unfortunately with the lack of a whipped topping, it doesn’t make for such a pretty picture.  In order to not discourage you, I’ll leave the picture up to your imagination this time, but trust me when I say it was very tasty!

Thin Minty Hot Cocoa

Serves: 2

1 cup skim milk

1 cup Silk Dark Chocolate Almond Milk (you will have to buy the whole 64 oz carton, but you can re-use for thin minty hot cocoas for up to 10 days)

2 thin mint girl scout cookies, finely grated

8-10 junior mints

1/4 tsp. peppermint extract (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Heat skim and almond milk in a small pot over medium heat.  Stir in peppermint extract, junior mints, and grated thin mint cookies until melted and warmed through.
  2. Enjoy!

Nutrition Facts (per serving): 185 calories, 4.3g fat, 31.5g carbohydrate, 5.5g protein

 

Also.. this is my 100th post!  It still surprises me that a fun project I decided to start actually turned into something that people read.  If you’re one of them, thank you!

One thought on “Thin Minty Hot Cocoa

  1. Pingback: Don’t Miss Swiss! « JessieHBlog

Tell me what you think

