Minestrone Soup

It was a sick, study filled weekend.  I can say I moved from the couch once or twice in 48 hours.  Unfortunately, the little germ monsters (children) at my part time job did it again.  My cold left me not caring at all about the quality of this picture of soup.  Despite the awful picture, I promise that it tastes delicious and was very comforting on a chilly fall night, sore throat or not!

It is not my recipe though so I cannot take credit for it.  It’s one of my favorite chef’s/RD, Ellie Krieger.  Next weekend through Tuesday I will be at the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics national conference in Philadelphia (sorry, no post next Monday!), and I can’t WAIT to go to Ellie’s presentation.  Maybe I can even meet her?! I like this recipe so much that I hardly altered it at all, and it’s perfect to freeze for nights you’re feeling lazy but still want need to get your vegetable servings in :)

Minestrone Soupvery slightly adapted from Ellie Krieger, RD

Serves: 6

2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1 large onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, diced

2 stalks celery, diced fairly thin

1 large carrot, diced fairly thin

1/3 lb green beans, cut into 1/2 in pieces

1 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. dried basil

salt and pepper, to taste

1 28 oz. can no-salt-added diced tomatoes

1 14 oz can no-salt-added crushed tomatoes

6 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1 14.5 oz can low-sodium kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup whole wheat elbow pasta

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  1. Dice all vegetables
  2. Heat olive oil in large pot over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook until translucent, about 4 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds.  Add the celery and carrot and cook until begin to soften, about 6-7 minutes.  Stir in the green beans, dried oregano and basil, dash of salt and pepper (if cans are higher sodium omit the salt), cook 4-5 more minutes.
  3. Add the diced and crushed tomatoes & chicken broth, bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 10 minutes.  Stir in the kidney beans and pasta and cook about 10 minutes more.
  4. Ladle into bowls and top with parmesan cheese.

Nutrition Facts (per serving): 260 calories, 8g fat (2g saturated), 37g carbohydrate (12g fiber), 15g protein

One thought on “Minestrone Soup

Tell me what you think

