Maddi’s Shrimp-Avocado Bowls

There are two great things about this recipe, one is that it comes from one of my old college roommates whom I love and miss every day.  I kind of think of her as my very own Paula Deen.. she’s the southern belle always wanting to add more butter.  Although, I don’t want to paint a bad picture, she is a healthy little vegetarian and she weighs about 90 pounds, but I have heard her say more than once that “you NEED to use butter.”  Here’s one of my favorite pictures from college, “teaching” the butter-loving southern belle to snowboard…

The second best thing about this recipe is that I didn’t prepare it (ha!).  This comes from chef Dan, who jumped in to cook it without being asked.. I’m hopeful some blog recognition will encourage him to do this more in the future ;)

One note on this recipe- it is very high in sodium.  I buy low sodium of everything, but you know how those Asian ingredients can be sometimes.. high in sodium no matter what.  If you have a heart problem such as high blood pressure, it would not be responsible of me as a future RD to tell you to consume this on a regular basis!  So, it’s a nice treat, think of it that way :)

Maddi’s Shrimp- Avocado Bowls

Serves: 6

1 lb medium shrimp, peeled & de-veined (I only used 1/2 lb due to the high cost of shrimp, which also worked just fine)

Sprinkling of ground ginger (adjust to your preferences)

2 Tbsp. rice wine (Buy at an Asian store if you can- much cheaper then a supermarket)

2 avocados, peeled, pitted, and diced

Juice of 1 lemon

4 cups cooked brown rice/quinoa (I used 2 of the 90 second microwaveable packages of a brown rice/quinoa mixture.  If you don’t have that available, I would do 2c brown rice and 2c quinoa, mixed)

1 c chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (I used about 2 tbsp. dried parsley instead)

Dressing:

1/3c low sodium soy sauce

3-4 tbsp. rice vinegar (also from Asian store if you can)

1 1/2 tbsp. rice wine

1 1/2 tbsp. toasted sesame oil (Asian store)

1 1/2 tbsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

Instructions:

  1. Combine all the dressing ingredients in a small bowl.
  2. Place shrimp in another bowl, add ginger and 2 tbsp. rice wine, toss lightly.
  3. Bring 2 quarts of water to boil in a large pot.  Add shrimp mixture, cook for 2.5-3 minutes until shrimp is pink.  Drain in colander and let shrimp cool.
  4. In a large bowl, lightly toss avocado with half the lemon juice.  Add cooked shrimp and rice/quinoa.  Add remaining lemon juice and toss.  Add dressing & parsley, and toss.  Taste for seasoning, add more salt if necessary.  Serve at room temperature or chilled.
Tell me what you think

