Shrimp & Corn Chowder

Happy Spring!  Although the weather seems to be back to its usual cold self here, I have a good recipe to warm you up.  The flavors in this were awesome, and don’t be deterred by the word “chowder”- this one only contains a mere 1/4 cup of cream.  What a great healthy alternative to a traditionally fatty dish (Dad- I think you will really like this one AND mom will approve).

I’m working on the appearance of my blog by taking better pictures, making the recipe format standardized, and starting to branch out and make some recipes of my own.  Slowly but surely, I’ll get there.  Also, at the  bottom of all posts there is a “print” button, so you can easily print the ones you like.

Look out for another recipe on Thursday, and with it I’ll be including some helpful nutrition tips to apply when cooking.  Have a great week!

Shrimp & Corn Chowder- slightly adapted from Cooking Light
Serves: 3-4

1 bunch green onions (I used almost 2 because I love the flavor of green onions)

3 cups diced red potato

3 cups fat-free, low sodium chicken broth

1 (16 oz) package frozen corn, thawed

1/2 pound shrimp, peeled, deveined, and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1/4 cup heavy cream

1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

Black Pepper (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Remove green tops from onions, chop and set aside.  Chop white portion of onions, set aside.
  2. Combine potato and chicken broth in a medium saucepan, bring mixture to a boil.  Cook 5 minutes, add corn and white portion of onions.  Reduce heat, simmer 8 minutes.
  3. Place 2 cups of the potato mixture in a blender (I used a food processor), process until smooth.  Return to pan, stir in shrimp (already diced).  Cook 3 minutes or until shrimp are pink.  Stir in onion tops, cream, and lemon juice.
  4. Ladle soup into bowls.  Sprinkle with pepper is desired.
2 thoughts on “Shrimp & Corn Chowder

  1. Pingback: Corn Chowder « I Love Soup

  2. Hi Kim, I just made this delicious Shrimp & Corn Chowder tonight. You were right, Dad & I loved it! It was a perfect dish for cool fall night or any night for that matter!! I hope your viewers will try this dish too!! Love, Mom & Dad

Tell me what you think

