Salmon & Roasted Green Beans

This one was really simple.  Salmon cooked this way is my go-to on nights that I’m really busy, and is also a great beginner fish recipe. The US Dietary Guidelines recommends 8 oz of fish per week.  This is usually advised to be done in two 4 oz portions.  When I buy fish, I tend to buy 5-6 oz for my meal.  That way, if I don’t get around to having it again that week, I’m close to the recommendation, and if I do get in another 5-6 oz, all the better!  I only say that because I know fish can be a little pricey, and not always readily available.  The reason it’s recommended and is good for you is because it’s full of heart healthy omega 3’s and lots of lean protein.  It also only takes about 11 minutes to cook… I bet if you drove to a fast food place and back that it would take you more then 11 minutes

One other thing I wanted to make note of is that most seasoned breadcrumbs can be high in sodium, so be mindful of labels if you have a heart or kidney condition.  It’s not as crucial for this recipe since you only use a thin layer, but for future uses, just make a mental note ;)

The string bean side dish was fantastic, I really enjoyed it.  I only modified the recipe by cutting it in half, so I’m going to link you over to the blog that I got it from, here.  It was another pinterest find, got to love that site!

Salmon Ingredients:

  • 5-6 oz of Salmon (The fish market may tell you that’s not enough, but I think it’s plenty filling)
  • 1-2 tsp. honey dijon mustard
  • Breadcrumbs to cover the fish (I love using panko, but didn’t have it handy for this one)

Directions: Spread dijon mustard on top of salmon, add breadcrumbs and place on piece of tin foil.  Bake at 400F for 11-12 minutes.  You know the fish is done if it flakes when cut by a fork.

3 thoughts on “Salmon & Roasted Green Beans

Tell me what you think

