Apple Butter Cookies

With a long week approaching filled with tests and assignments, I was feeling like I needed a cookie to cut my sweet tooth cravings.  I’m not sure where I got this original recipe from, but I changed a bunch of things from the original to make them a little healthier.  The recipe makes about 2 dozen so feel free to share with friends or freeze the extras, I hope that you like them! I know I did :)  I also just finished my meal plan list for this week and I have a bunch of fun new recipes coming so check back later this week if you’re interested!

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. unsalted butter (at room temperature)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup apple butter (I used Trader Joe’s Honey Apple Butter)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tablespoons skim milk

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together butter and sugar with an electric mixer.  Beat in egg, oats, and apple butter.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl.  Gradually add to wet ingredients, along with 2 tbsp. milk.
  3. Cover and refrigerate until easy to handle (This is important or else they will come out very flat).
  4. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake at 350 F for about 15 minutes.
2 thoughts on “Apple Butter Cookies

Tell me what you think

