Blueberry Banana Smoothies

So I was starting to realize that most of my posts are centered around dinner, and most of them take a solid 30 minutes to an hour to put together, so I wanted to give you a really easy one today that makes for a great healthy snack.  Pretty much every second of the winter, I’m missing the summer.  Especially the fresh fruit that’s available in the summer months, I LOVE fruit, truly could eat it all day long.  So for summer cravings I stocked up on some frozen berries (I DID blueberry pick this summer and freeze the extras, however, I ate them before fall even ended!  So these are from the frozen section of Wegmans).  This recipe is my invention, so feel free to improvise with another type of fruit that you prefer more and be creative.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup Frozen Blueberries
  • 1 Banana
  • 1.5-2 cups Low Fat Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1/3 cup Skim Milk*

*Add or subtract the yogurt and milk to your preferred consistency.  These were pretty thick so I would suggest adding a little more milk or water to thin it out.

The total recipe provides 2 cup equivalents of fruit which is the daily recommendation for men and women 19-30 years old.  Since it makes 2 servings, if you drink 1 smoothie you will intake half of the daily recommendation of fruit servings.  If you have both, you’ll get them all!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Banana Smoothies

Tell me what you think

