Chicken Parmesan Burgers

Here’s another great Cooking Light recipe.  It’s so easy for weeknight meals.  It’s pretty carbohydrate heavy with the ciabatta bread, but it’s such a delicious bread it makes for a nice treat.  My picture is not the best, and it lacks the fresh basil because mine went bad before I could use it. I love fresh basil on this sandwich though, so I would highly recommend using it when you make it.  I also doubled the recipe since my valentine is kind of a piggy, but I’d recommend doing the same if you’re hungry or want leftovers.

Ingredients

  • 2 (3-ounce) square ciabatta rolls
  • 1 garlic clove, halved
  • 1/2 pound ground chicken
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons lower-sodium marinara sauce, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary (I omitted this because I don’t like rosemary)
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme (I used dried thyme instead- but use less since dry herbs are stronger then fresh)
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/4 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 8 basil leaves

Preparation

1. Preheat broiler.

2. Cut rolls in half. Place bread, cut side up, on a baking sheet. Broil for 3 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove bread from pan. Rub each slice with cut side of garlic. Set aside.

3. Preheat oven to 375°.

4. Combine chicken, 1/3 cup marinara, rosemary, thyme, red pepper, salt, and black pepper. Divide into 2 portions, shaping each into a 1/4-inch-thick patty. Heat an ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add patties to pan; cook for 3 minutes. Turn patties, and place pan in oven. Bake at 375° for 8 minutes (when I made it, it took more like 15 minutes- just watch it and make sure it’s cooked through.) Top each patty with 2 tablespoons cheese; bake 1 minute.

5. Layer bottom half of each roll with 2 basil leaves, 1 patty, 1 tablespoon marinara, 2 basil leaves, and roll top.

Source: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-parmesan-burgers-50400000111141/

2 thoughts on “Chicken Parmesan Burgers

  1. We tried this recipe a few nights ago and me and “my piggy” really liked the chicken burgers. They’re packed with a lot of flavor. I didn’t have fresh basil so I replaced it with fresh spinach and that was good too! Thanks Kim!

  2. I can’t wait to try out this recipe! You know how hard it is to think of things to cook for a certain someone but I know he would LOVE these! :)

Tell me what you think

