Turkey-Orzo “Casserole”

Today I’m going to share a new recipe I tried out tonight.  Due to the cheese, this recipe isn’t completely healthy, but, it does use lean turkey meat which is a plus!  I titled it “casserole” because it really didn’t resemble that to me (see picture below), but despite that I still enjoyed it.  I apologize for the lack of posts lately, I was asked to do nutrition training for the after school program staff at the school district I work for part-time.  It is a great opportunity to learn more about pediatric nutrition, and share its importance with my co-workers, but I have been hard at work on it and blogging took a back seat!  I’m shooting for three posts this week, so we’ll see how it goes!

In addition to the recipe, I saw a really eye-opening show last night and I feel like it is important to share.  The show was on the food network and it was a special about how much food is wasted in our country.  Bobby Flay’s team and Anne Burrell’s team competed opposite each other to prepare a gourmet meal from entirely “wasted” food.  They had to travel to local farms, or slaughterhouses, or sift through supermarket “garbage” to collect ingredients to make the dishes.  It was amazing to see that a perfectly good tomato with a slight dent in it, or a chicken egg that is too small to be graded are among many food items that are just simply thrown away.  Especially in a world where thousands of children go to bed hungry every night.. it was really disturbing.  The dishes made of “trash” turned out to be fantastic, and the hundreds of guests couldn’t believe the fact that it had all been heading for the landfills.  Although not all of it is within our control as consumers, I feel like it’s important to think about.  So maybe next fall when you go apple picking, do your part and don’t throw a slightly bruised one on the ground.  Eat it! There’s nothing wrong with a safe, imperfect piece of produce.  The ugly duckling still needs love to!

Now for the recipe:

Turkey-Orzo Casserole

(source: newsday)

Ingredients:

1 cup orzo (uncooked)

1 pound lean ground turkey

1 cup chopped onion

1/2 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. dill

2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes

1 cup shredded low-fat mozzarella cheese

1 cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Coat a 11-by-7 or 13-by-9 baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Cook the orzo according to package.  Drain and set aside.
  3. Combine turkey, onion, oregano and dill in a large, nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and cook, breaking the turkey into crumbles, until it is browned and the onions start to soften, 5-6 minutes (but for me it took more like 10 minutes).  Add the tomatoes and simmer over medium heat until thickened, 13-15 minutes.
  4. Toss the orzo with the mozzarella and about half the feta, stir in the turkey mixture and transfer to the baking dish.  Top with the remaining feta and bake 10 minutes, until cheese is melted.  Makes 4 servings.
One thought on “Turkey-Orzo “Casserole”

  1. I’ve really been enjoying your blog, Kim! I love the recipes and educational information, thank you! I’ll be trying your recipes real soon. xoxo

Tell me what you think

